Beauty · lipstick · makeup · Moms · Self care · Uncategorized · women

My Grandmother’s Red Lipstick

I don’t remember my grandmother wearing any other color lipstick besides red.

My grandmother was and is the epitome of beauty, grace, and confidence. I’ll always remember studying her as she did her makeup, hoping to be even half as beautiful and classy as she was when I grew up. She worked hard to bring our family to the US of A, but she still took time out for self care. It might sound crazy, but I can even smell her perfume still. It was a floral scent.

Wearing a red lip takes a certain level of confidence because there’s nothing subtle about it. Whenever I want to switch from my usual soft and subtle look, I go straight for a red lip to jazz things up a bit.

My grandmother has Alzheimer’s now, but the last time she saw me in a red lip, she smiled. It warmed my heart so much to know that I had the approval from Ms. Beauty and Grace herself.

If you haven’t tried a red lip yet, and want to, give it a go! There’s power in stepping outside your comfort zone.

3 thoughts on “My Grandmother’s Red Lipstick

Leave a comment